Home / Shipping News / International Shipping News / New Council Takes the Helm at Singapore Shipping Association: First female President elected in SSA’s 34 years’ history

New Council Takes the Helm at Singapore Shipping Association: First female President elected in SSA’s 34 years’ history

The Council of the Singapore Shipping Association (SSA)—the industry voice of Singapore’s maritime community—yesterday made history by nominating the association’s first-ever female President since its founding in 1985.

At SSA’s 23rd Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 26 June 2019, the 2019/2021 Council elected Ms. Caroline Yang, Chief Executive of Hong Lam Marine, as the association’s President. Ms. Yang started her career with Hong Lam Marine as their in-house counsel in 1991, and has more than 25 years’ experience in the shipping industry.

Ms. Caroline Yang, Chief Executive of Hong Lam Marine, is the first female President in SSA’s 34 years’ history

As President of SSA, Ms. Yang will be supported by two Vice Presidents and the SSA Secretariat headed by Mr. Michael Phoon. The two Vice Presidents nominated by the 2019/2021 Council are Ms. Katie Men, Managing Director of Iseaco Investment and Mr. Rene Piil Pedersen, Managing Director of A P Moller Singapore.

Commenting on her nomination, Ms. Yang said, “I am honoured by the trust the Council has placed in me by electing me as SSA President for the 2019/2020 term. The shipping community in Singapore has much to be proud of. This year, Singapore bagged the ‘Best Seaport in Asia’ for 31st time and also the ‘Best Green Seaport’ at the 2019 Asia Freight, Logistics and Supply Chain Awards. We were also recognised as the ‘Top Leading Maritime Capital of the World’ for the fourth consecutive time in a report issued by Menon Economics and DNV GL. Notwithstanding, the industry continues to face challenging conditions and digital disruptions. As we navigate into the future together, the task of the Council is to work with all stakeholders to champion Maritime Singapore, to keep SSA relevant and responsive to our members, and to encourage participation by our members in our shared goal.”

“I would also like to place on record the Council’s deep appreciation to Immediate-past President Mr. Esben Poulsson, who has been a tireless champion of the Singapore shipping industry. His term is marked by the move of SSA Secretariat into digitalization, and expansion of membership, and by preparing the industry for sweeping changes such as the sulphur oxides cap that goes into effect in January 2020.”

At the 23rd Annual General Meeting, the Council also named Mr. S. S. Teo, Executive Chairman and Managing Director of Pacific International Lines, an Honorary Member in recognition of his immense contributions to Singapore’s shipping industry in numerous capacities, including as a long-serving Councillor and President of SSA from 2003-2011.

The seven Ordinary Members nominated for the 2019/2021 Council are:

          Member Company                                Represented By

  1. A P MollerSingapore Pte Ltd                 Mr. Rene Piil Pedersen
    (Vice President)
  2. COSCO (Singapore) Pte Ltd                  Mr. Gu Jing Song
  3. Executive Ship Management Pte Ltd      Mr. Steen Brodsgaard Lund
  4. Hong Lam Marine Pte Ltd                       Ms. Caroline Yang
  5. Iseaco Investment Pte Ltd                      Ms. Katie Men
    (Vice President)
  6. Pacific International Lines (Pte) Ltd        Mr. Teo Teng Seng
  7. WallemShipping (Singapore) Pte Ltd     Mr. Nitin Mathur

Source: Singapore Shipping Association

Recent Videos

Hellenic Shipping News Worldwide Online Daily Newspaper on Hellenic and International Shipping